Latest News

Minutes of the Committee of the Whole Meeting April 10, 2018 Tuesday, 10 April 2018 13:50

Pender County Board of Education

Tuesday, April 10, 2018

Board Room

Pender Resource Center

798 U.S. Hwy. 117 South

Burgaw, N.C. 28425

4:30 p.m.

Board Members Present

Leadership Team Members Present

Kenneth Lanier, Chair

Dr. Steven Hill, Superintendent

Don Hall,  Vice Chair

Darren LaFon, Director

Rochelle Whiteside

Dr. Todd Blumenreich, Director

Katherine Herring

Alfredia Moore, Director


Betsy Chestnutt, Director


Miranda Ferguson, Communications

Richard Schwartz, Attorney


Call to Order

At 4:39 p.m., Vice-Chair Don Hall welcomed all and called the Budget Work Session of the Pender County Board of Education to order.

Cenergistic Energy Savings Plan

Next, Dr. Hill and Mr. Lafon informed the Board of a plan proposed by Cenergistic Energy Conservation Company designed to save Pender County Schools money on energy costs. Cenergistic projects the district can save $1,856,000 over the next five years by implementing their energy conservation plan.

Water and Waste Water Management

Chief Operations Officer Darren Lafon presented a cost analysis that shows contracting services for water and waste water management is more cost-effective than hiring two full-time employees for the same purpose. Mr. Lafon said that Envirolink assumes the responsibility for state reporting and any and all fines incurred for late or inaccurate reports.

Discussion of HVAC Replacement

Mr. Lafon said the HVAC unit at Penderlea auditorium is running at half capacity. The unit is about $9,700 to purchase, with an additional approximately $6,000 in installation costs.

Rochelle Whiteside moved to replace the HVAC unit at Penderlea auditorium, Katherine Herring seconded, and the motion carried.


In a motion made by Rochelle Whiteside, seconded by Katherine Herring, the Board adjourned its meeting at 5:10 p.m.

Superintendent                                                                                 Board Chair

Dr. Steven Hill                                                                                   Kenneth Lanier